A breakfast post

For as long as I can remember, my breakfast has always consisted of a jam sandwich followed by a nutella sandwich. Although I still love both, I have recently been looking for an alternative. The sugars from jam, nutella, and bread are absorbed into the blood almost instantly, which at first is extremely pleasurable. However, the effect lasts only short time. Insulin is secreted within minutes and subsequently lowers blood sugar back to pre-breakfast values. As a result, you feel hungry again after a short while. This is rather disadvantageous when the next possibility to eat something is several hours away.

In a job like mine, where eating breaks are sporadic and short, you rather need “sustained release food”, as I would like to call it. And so I discovered müesli with fresh fruit for breakfast. It is equally delicious as a jam sandwich, but it does last longer. And it is prepared within no time, which is quite important when your working day starts at 7.30 am.

The original concept of müesli was created by the Swiss physician Maximilian Bircher-Benner around 1900. He soaked oatmeal in water overnight and then added sweetened condensed milk, lemon juice, grated apple, and ground nuts.

Today, müesli comes in all varieties. I do prefer a very basic and straightforward version. First, I mix oatmeal with yoghurt. I prefer the Turkish one with 10 % fat, but I usually dilute with some milk. Finally, I add fresh seasonal fruit, and that’s it. I don’t add sugar, which I don’t find necessary, as only fully ripe fruit will find their way into my breakfast müesli.

You can use almost any kind of fruit you can imagine. And if you switch it from day to day, your müesli will never get boring. However, be careful with those fruit that contain a high amount of proteases. That is pineapple (bromelain), papaya (papain), kiwi (actinidin), or fig (ficin). Their enzymes break down the milk proteins, leading to bitter tasting short-chain peptides. It is no problem to have these fruit in your müesli, but you should eat it immediately after preparation.

0 Responses to “A breakfast post”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

